The Adrian Van Sinderen Book Collecting Prizes for 2014

Esperanto Images

Winners of the 2014 Adrian Van Sinderen Book Collecting Prizes have been announced.

This year’s senior prize was awarded to Austin Jung of Saybrook College for his collection on the Esperanto language. Solene Goycochea of Morse College was awarded a senior second prize for her Basque history collection. Sarah Maslin of Trumbull College received a senior honorable mention for her collection titled “Revolutionary and Counterrevolutionary Violence in Latin America.”

For his collection on modernism in literature, Andrew Koenig of Jonathan Edwards College won the sophomore prize. Sophomore honorable mentions were awarded to Katharine Spooner (Timothy Dwight College) for her collection on the metropolitan history of London with a focus on the London Underground and to Cristóbal Trujillo (Saybrook College) for his foreign literature and philosophy collection.

For more than half a century, student bibliophiles have been receiving prizes for the quality of their book collections, thanks to the generosity of Yale alumnus Adrian Van Sinderen (Class of 1910). In 1957 Mr. Van Sinderen established two prizes, for Yale seniors and sophomores, in order to encourage undergraduates to collect books, build up libraries of their own, and read for pleasure and learning. Current first prize amounts are $1,000 for the senior winner and $750 for the sophomore winner. In 2002 an annual poster competition was added, awarding a $500 prize to the winning designer of the poster used to announce the book collecting competition.

Judges for this year’s competition were William Reese ’77 (Chair), Joseph Agostini ’93, Alec Baum ’14, Elisabeth Fairman, Rebecca Martz, Stephen Parks ’61, E.C. Schroeder, and Sylvia Van Sinderen.